Manchester United Ace Among Golden Boy Nominees

      Comments Off on Manchester United Ace Among Golden Boy Nominees

Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool and Chelsea fans have something to get excited as Marcus Rashford, Alex Iwobi, Marko Grujic, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Andreas Christensen and Nathan are among the nominees to win the 2016 Golden Boy award.

There have been 40 players nominated for this 2016’s Golden Boy award, with each of Europe’s biggest leagues contributing their hottest talents to the shortlist.

The Red Devils have had three previous winners of the award with Wayne Rooney (2004), Anderson (2008) and Martial (2015) claiming the prize, while Cesc Fabregas was a winner at the Gunners in 2006.

Rashford and Iwobi have been sensational for United and Arsenal respectively. The England international netted 13 times since his debut, while the Nigerian has had a hand in eight goals for Wenger’s man so far.

Grujic signed for Liverpool in January, but spent the rest of the 2015/16 back on loan with Red Star Belgrade, helping his boyhood club win the Serbian SuperLiga.

The Serbian has since joined up with his new team-mates, and has so far made three appearances under Jurgen Klopp.

The Premier League links don’t end there, though, with Chelsea’s Ruben Loftus-Cheek and Nathan—currently on loan at Vitesse—also nominated alongside Andreas Christensen-currently on loan at Borussia Mönchengladbach, as well as Manchester City duo Leroy Sane and Kelechi Iheanacho.

The annual prize – established by Italian newspaper Tuttosport in 2003 and voted for by a panel of journalists from around the continent – nominations for the award must be born after January 1st 1996 and play for a European club.

Check out the full nominees list below:

Dele Alli (Tottenham), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Leon Bailey (Genk), Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax), Gabriel Boschilia (Monaco), Julian Brandt (Leverkusen), Carlos Fernandez (Sevilla), Andreas Christensen (Borussia Monchengladbach), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb), Amadou Diawara (Napoli), Mahmoud Dahoud (Borussia Monchengladbach), Danilo Barbosa (Benfica), Moussa Dembele (Celtic), Ousmane Dembele (Dortmund), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Breel Embolo (Schalke), Gabriel Barbosa (Inter), Aleksandr Golovin (CSKA Moscow), Goncalo Guedes (Benfica), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Marko Grujic (Liverpool), Alen Halilovic (Hamburg), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Viktor Kovalenko (Shakhtar Donetsk), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Lucas Hernandez (Atletico Madrid), Emanuel Mammana (Lyon), Nathan (Vitesse), Olivier Ntcham (Genoa), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich), Jairo Riedewald (Ajax), Ruben Neves (Porto), Tonny Sanabria (Betis), Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht), Almamy Toure (AS Monaco).